So yesterday was a long day, started at 7am, and didnt stop until i got home around 8pm.
Basically we worked and saw patients all day, 16 patients in the morning, 4 at the hospital and another 6 in the afternoon then back to the hospital to see the patients again....
I got home ate some dinner and then sat on my couch to attempt to look up a few things....and fell asleep...So i didnt get a chance to write yesterday. I apologize....
Anyways, nothing too exciting happened, we got some new hospital patients and saw some more office patients....although the new hospital patient is considered a hospital VIP, i felt he got the same treatment as everyone else, so i am not sure the difference...maybe the nurses paid a little more attention to him but thats about it....
Also, my poor roomate had another 36 shift yesterday....its seriously like i live alone 2 days a week. Part of me feels bad that she is at the hospital working so much, esp because she really has not seen more patients and ends up sitting around most of the time....
I may not be working overnight calls, but i am still seeing a lot of patients with a variety of complaints and i am getting hospital and office types of patients..i am also learning about how the office runs and other business end of medicine....plus i get to sleep every night :) this will change of course when i get to surgery but right now i am going to enjoy every moment of relaxation i can take...
Today i only worked the morning, went to a lecture at lunch and then had a series of doctors appointments in the afternoon....
I went to the health clinic at my school, and ran into about 6 people from class also on rotations, but clearly not working too hard since i saw them at school, making phone calls, using the lib computer lab or picking up paper work....For the last two years i worked my butt off studying during all of my free time, and when not studying feeling guilty about not studying...
Now, i have free time and the guilt about studying is actually gone!! But strange enough when i got my manicure and pedicure the other day i actually read a book about internal medicine cases...i read medicine for FUN!! This style of learning is much better, there is no deadline or stress involved...and i get to read about patients that i am seeing, so i put a person to the disease....I am going to say this a lot over the next few months....but now is a great time to start..
3rd year is SOOO much better than 2nd year!!!!!!!! anyone who says different is simply boring and not worth talking to....
Anyways, today is pretty boring, i am picking up prescriptions and meeting some friends for a birthday dinner...
may have more to report back later.
btw-
did you hear about the 11yr old girl in alabama charged with a DUI??? only in the south.... the only thing i can think of is where are her parents??? how does an 11 year, get drunk, take a car (supposedly picking her sister up from a concert) without her parents taking some action...
need a liscense to drive a car, but any idiot can be a parent.....
Tuesday, July 10, 2007
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment