So i started my family medicine rotation on thursday and so far its been a nightmare. I am convinced the doctor hates me, and wont give me straight answers about anything.
i show up the first day and ask the doctor what she expects of me, what my hours will be etc. She mentioned that i am to get there first thing in the morning and work until i am done. What does that mean?? could she possibly be more vague?? So i am still not sure what hours i am going to have while on this rotation, there are 3 doctors in the office, all with different schedules, and they see an average 75 patients a day (thats a ton!!, they see peds - geriatrics)....
then yesterday i showed up to the office at 8:30am, and worked with a different until 2pm when my doctor finally showed up. I saw patients all morning, and when i came out of a patient room and my doctor sees me, i get yelled at for not seeing her patients.
Then when she asked me to go and see the patient in room 4 i mentioned that i dont speak Spanish and the patient is Spanish only, so i could see the patient in room 3. I then got a speech (in front of patients, other doctors and the office staff), "you have lived here for over a year, what do you mean you cant speak Spanish?? Its a disgrace and I need to learn Spanish if i plan on living in south florida."
----seriously, I need to learn Spanish, to accommodate people who moved to this country?? I can learn Spanish and i am practicing, but my vocab is not nearly good enough to see patients on my own because i have a hard time understanding what they say in response to my questions.
but really, these people have moved to America, why are they not expected to learn English?? i have lived here a year and should speak Spanish, some of the patients have lived here over 20 years and speak NO English! why is that fair, and why am i the one who gets yelled at for it...It probably sounds really bad, but i am not against immigration, i am just not sure why we need to make it so easy for them to not assimilate to the new country they live in...if i moved to Spain, i am expected to learn Spanish i do not expect people to speak to me in English. I think we may it too easy for people to get away with not having to speak English.
enough of my rant.....there will be more i am sure in the coming weeks.....
"i can do anything for a month!" this is my new mantra....
i am going to DC for the next few days and will be back monday evening.
Saturday, November 3, 2007
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment