Sunday, September 14, 2008

a moment of reflection....PALIN

Ever since i heard about the pick for VP, the name evokes an emotional response - and its not one of those warm and happy feelings. This simple decision, the pick for VP on the republican ticket simply put, gives me nightmares and panic attacks. At first glance, it seems that the McCain is trying to do the smart thing by placing a women to take the 'would be Hillary' votes - but that concept sickens me. Palin is the antithesis to everything Hillary stands for, thinking that women will vote for someone based on the fact she has a vagina is a personal insult to my intelligence and the intelligence of women everywhere. If you believe in what Palin stands for than there is no way you would have voted for Hillary, unless you vote based on gender alone. Joe Biden is more aligned with Hillary politics, and has a record of fighting for woman's rights, unlike Palin - who wants to see us without personal rights.

Having this woman, Palin - take a position that is literally a heart beat away from the presidency frightens me more than 4 more years of Bush. Did you watch her ABC interview?? After watching the interview i am not sure she is qualified to be in national politics - she should stick to alaska (pop 900,000).

feel free to watch the interview and judge for yourself.
Palin interview 1/4
palin interview 2/4
Palin interview 3/4
Palin interview 4/4

here are some of the reasons she frightens me:
- doesnt believe in evolution (she believes in creationism, and thinks this is what needs to be taught in schools) - i guess this means we have no responsibility in furthering the species, god will take of it, sounds a lot like someone who has been president for the past 8 years..
- doesnt believe in abortion even in cases of rape and incest - this is more radical than most republicans who at least want women who have been victimized the right to not have the child born out of hate.
- clearly doesnt believe in teaching the youth about comprehensive sex education, and strongly believes abstinence education works - has she seen her daughter lately??? great work!
- HAS NO, i repeat NO foreign policy experience or knowledge - did you watch the video??
- would be an embarrasement representing our country to foriegn heads of state...yikes! i hope the rest of the world doesnt think all women in the US are like her..
- is a proud member of the NRA, enjoys hunting (has been trying for years to have polar bears taken off the endangered list so she could hunt them)
- thinks oil is the best form of energy and wants to drill in the alaskan wilderness
- IS CURRENTLY being investigating for abuse of power (sounds familar too!)
- remember the 'bridge to nowhere' - seems like someone is a 'flip flopper' on that issue. Evidence she says what she needs to, to get elected. (also sounds familiar)

clearly i think everyone has the right to vote for the candidate they think will do the BEST job. So if you think you Palin is a qualified VP and possibly president (McCain is not getting any younger) then go ahead and vote for the ticket. But if past performance is a sign of future performance, than take a look at her track record. The issues she stands for, and think about what type of person makes those decisions and thinks that way.....do you want that to represent us as a country??? do you really think that it will be any different than the current administration??

I actually think it will be worse than the current administration. Just remember the roles that government plays....taxes are decided by legislation, appointments are made by the executive branch (including appointments to the judicial branch, and other administraive agencies)

well i guess that includes my two cents for the day. If you do nothing else today. Please watch the ABC interview...also if you disagree with me and are in favor of the candidate, please let me know why, i am curious.

No comments: